4th phase municipal polls: AL announces candidates

January 14, 2021 Bangladesh
Awami League on Wednesday announced the titles of 56 mayoral candidates for the fourth period municipal elections scheduled to get held on February 14.

The announcement came after a gathering of the ruling party’s Local Government Representative Nomination Board, held at Ganobhaban with AL President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

Awami League declared its nominated mayoral prospects for four municipalities found in Rangpur Division, 9 municipalities found in Rajshahi Division, six municipalities in Khulna Division, three municipalities in Barishal Division, 13 found in Dhaka Division, five found in Mymensingh Division, two found in Sylhet Division and 14 in Chattogram Division, according to news release issued by the get together.

The deadline for submission of nomination papers is January 17.

Based on the schedule, the date designed for scrutiny of nomination papers is January 19 and the last date designed for withdrawal of candidature is January 26.

Among the 56 municipalities, Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in polls to 31 municipalities, while 25 others will see the use of traditional ballot papers.

The first phase election to 24 municipalities happened on December 28 this past year, as the second phase election to 61 municipalities will be held on January 16 and the 3rd phase polls to 64 municipalities on January 30.

Source: Observerbd - Bangladesh

Tags :